Related Results

Friday, 19 September 2014

Akhteruzzaman Elias

Akhteruzzaman Elias /আখতারুজ্জামান ইলিয়াস

Born     February 16, 1943
Gotia, Gaibandha District, British Raj (now Bangladesh)
Died     January 4, 1997 (aged 53)
Occupation     novelist, short story writer
Nationality     Bangladeshi
Education     Master of Arts
Alma mater     University of Dhaka
Notable works     Khoabnama, Chilekothar Sepai
Notable awards     Bangla Academy Award (1983)
Ekushey Padak (1999)

Akhteruzzaman Elias (Bengali: আখতারুজ্জামান ইলিয়াস; February 16, 1943 - January 4, 1997), born in Gaibandha District, was a Bangladeshi novelist and short story writer. Though he wrote only two novels, critics[who?] place Elias in the pantheon of great Bengali novelists. In the context of the novels of Bangladesh, he is possibly the second person highest acclaimed after Syed Waliullah.

Early life and education

Elias was born at his maternal uncle's home in Gotia village in Gaibandha District. His paternal home was in Chelopara, near Bogra. His father, Badiuzzaman Muhammad Elias, was a member of the East Bengal Provincial Assembly and Parliamentary Secretary of the Muslim League.

Elias completed his Matriculation from Bogra Zilla School in 1958, Intermediate from Dhaka College in 1960, and BA (Hons) and MA from the University of Dhaka in 1964.


Elias started his career as a lecturer at Jagannath College and worked there till 1983. He also worked subsequently as Deputy Director, Directorate of Primary Education, Vice-Principal of Music College, and Professor and Head of the Department of Bangla at Dhaka College.


    Chilekothar Sepai (The Soldier in the Attic) (1987) - details the psychological journey of a man during the turbulent period just prior to Bangladeshi independence in 1971. This novel also contains what is arguably the most authentic description of life in Puran Dhaka, the old and distinctive part of Dhaka.

    Khoabnama (Tale of Dreams) (1996) - Khoabnama depicts the socio-political scene in rural pre-partition Bangladesh.

Short story collections

    Dojokher Om (The Warmth of Hell)
    Dudhbhate Utpat (No Peace in Milk and Rice)
    Onno Ghore Onno Shor (Another Tune in Another Room)
    Khoari (Hangover)
    Jal Shopno, Shopner Jal

Essay collections

    Shongskritir bhanga shetu (Broken Bridge of Culture)


    1977 : Humayun Kabir Smrti Puraskar
    1983 : Bangla Academy Award in Literature
    1987 : Alaol Sahitya Puraskar - Chilekothar Sepai
    1996 : Ananda Puraskar - Khwabnama
    1996 : Saadat Ali Akhand Puraskar - Khwabnama
    1996 : Kazi Mahbubullah Gold Medal - Khwabnama
    1999 : Ekushey Padak (posthumous)
For more detail visit here:


Post a Comment